USB4 Explained: How It Improves Connectivity
Short answer: USB4 is a connection standard that runs over the USB-C connector and can carry data, a display signal, and power through one cable. For an editing laptop, that means one port can attach an external SSD, an external monitor, or a dock. USB4 appears in the port list of a listing, often next to Thunderbolt. Apple's spec pages list USB 4 up to 40Gb/s on M5 models and up to 120Gb/s on M5 Pro and M5 Max models. If a listing does not state USB4 or Thunderbolt, check the port line before you buy.
What USB4 is
USB4 is a connection standard that runs over the USB-C connector. A USB4 port can carry data, a display signal, and power through one cable. That is the whole idea an editor cares about: one port on the laptop can attach an external drive, feed an external monitor, and keep the laptop powered, with fewer cables behind the desk.
USB4 appears as a name on a spec sheet, usually in the port line of a listing. The port line is where you read whether a laptop carries USB4, Thunderbolt, or only a plain USB-C label. Apple's MacBook Pro spec page lists USB 4 on the same port as Thunderbolt, which shows how closely the two standards sit together on a modern laptop.
What USB4 carries for an editor
The three jobs a USB4 port does are the three jobs an editing setup grows into. The first is external storage: an external SSD that holds footage, project files, and backups. The second is display: an external monitor for the timeline and the preview. The third is connection: a dock or hub that attaches a card reader, a mouse, and a headphone interface through one cable.
An editing desk often includes an external SSD for footage, an external monitor for the timeline, and a dock for card readers and audio. When you read a laptop listing, ask which of those you will connect. If the answer is all three, the port line matters more than the title.
USB4 versus Thunderbolt on a listing
Thunderbolt and USB4 are related standards that share the USB-C connector. On Apple's spec pages they appear together on one port: Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C) with support for charging, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt 4 up to 40Gb/s, and USB 4 up to 40Gb/s. The M5 Pro and M5 Max models list Thunderbolt 5 and USB 4 up to 120Gb/s.
On a Windows laptop, a listing may state USB4, Thunderbolt 4, or neither. Thunderbolt is a stricter standard that sets a minimum capability, while USB4 is the base standard that Thunderbolt builds on. For an editor, both carry an external SSD and an external display; the question is what your shortlist states.
| Connection | What the spec page states |
|---|---|
| USB 4 on M5 models | Up to 40Gb/s |
| Thunderbolt 4 on M5 models | Up to 40Gb/s |
| USB 4 on M5 Pro and M5 Max models | Up to 120Gb/s |
| Thunderbolt 5 on M5 Pro and M5 Max models | Up to 120Gb/s |
Reading the port line on a laptop listing
The port line on a listing is short and specific. Look for USB4, USB 4, Thunderbolt 4, or Thunderbolt 5. If the line says USB-C without a standard name, the seller has not stated which standard the port uses, and the port should be treated as an unknown until you check the full details.
Titles often skip ports. A title may advertise the screen, the processor, and the graphics, and leave the port standard to the specification table. When a title does advertise Thunderbolt, read the port line too, because Thunderbolt and USB4 are different names for related standards and a listing can carry either.
Charging is part of the same port on many laptops. USB-C power delivery and USB4 share the connector, so one cable can charge and carry data. Read the USB-C power delivery article for what the charging line states. For the full port list an editor needs, see the ports on an editing laptop article.
USB4, external storage, and backups
External SSDs are where editors keep footage that is not being cut right now, plus the backup copies of finished projects. A USB4 port carries that drive, and because the same port can also feed a monitor, an editing desk can run with one cable to the laptop instead of several.
The listed storage of a laptop is its internal drive. Footage and backups are separate from that figure. When a listing adds an external drive into the storage number, read the internal number only, and plan external storage as a separate purchase. The storage types article explains the difference between internal and external storage.
USB4 and external displays
A monitor connected on a USB4 or Thunderbolt port receives the display signal over the same cable as the data. Apple's spec pages list the external display support of the MacBook line on Thunderbolt and USB-C ports, and the MacBook Air page lists two external displays over its Thunderbolt ports. Capability figures like those come from the maker's page, not from a laptop listing.
For your timeline, an external monitor is a second workspace, not a performance part. The laptop display keeps the preview, the monitor keeps the timeline, or the other way around. Read the external monitor ports article and the multi-display article for how display support reads on a listing. For the Thunderbolt side of the comparison, see the Thunderbolt on an editing laptop article.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You edit on a MacBook and want one cable for the drive and the monitor | A MacBook Pro listing whose port line states Thunderbolt 4 or Thunderbolt 5 with USB 4 | Best MacBook for Video Editing (2026): 15 MacBook Reviews |
| You keep footage on external SSDs | A laptop whose port line states USB4 or Thunderbolt for the drive | Best Laptop for 4K Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You want a single cable to your external monitor | A listing that states DisplayPort over USB-C or Thunderbolt | Best Laptop for Content Creation in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You carry the laptop between shoots | A lightweight laptop with a stated USB4 or Thunderbolt port | Best Lightweight Video Editing Laptops in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You work at a fixed editing desk with a dock | A workstation-class laptop with Thunderbolt or USB4 ports | Best Workstation Laptop for Video Editing (2026): 15 Picks |
Questions
Does USB4 work with a Thunderbolt accessory?
The two standards share the USB-C connector and appear together on Apple's spec pages. On a listing, read the port line to see which standard the laptop states; this site never promises compatibility with a specific accessory.
Do you need USB4 for an external SSD?
No. Many laptops connect an external SSD over USB-C or USB-A without stating USB4. For footage that stays on the drive, any stated data connection works; USB4 and Thunderbolt are one option, not a requirement.
What does 40Gb/s mean on a listing?
It is the port capability as the maker's page states it. On Apple's spec pages, USB 4 and Thunderbolt 4 are listed at up to 40Gb/s on M5 models. That figure describes the port, not the working pace of an editing program.
How do you know which USB standard a laptop uses?
Read the port line of the listing. Words like USB4, USB 4, Thunderbolt 4, or Thunderbolt 5 tell you the standard. A line that says only USB-C leaves the standard unstated by the seller.
Is Thunderbolt better than USB4 for editing?
Thunderbolt is a stricter standard with a minimum capability, and USB4 is the base standard it builds on. For an editor, both carry external drives and external displays; the choice comes from the stated details on your shortlist.
Recent updates
- : First published.