Thunderbolt 3 vs 4: What It Means for Video Editors
Short answer: Thunderbolt is the connection standard that carries data, display video, and power over one USB-C cable. For an editor, it matters because it connects the external drive you edit from, the dock that holds your card reader and peripherals, and the external display you check your timeline on. On a listing, read the stated port name, then check the maker's page for how many ports the model carries and what each port supports.
What Thunderbolt does for an editor
Thunderbolt is a connection standard that uses the USB-C connector to carry data, display video, and power through one cable. On an editing laptop, that one cable connects the drives you edit from, the dock that holds your card reader and peripherals, and the external display you check your timeline on.
Apple's MacBook Pro page describes its ports in exactly these terms: a way to connect peripherals, transfer photos, drive multiple external displays, and power up instantly. The ASUS ProArt page makes a similar point, listing Thunderbolt, USB-C, and HDMI among the connectivity standards on its creator laptop line.
When you read a laptop listing, Thunderbolt appears in the stated details as Thunderbolt 4 or Thunderbolt 5, or it may not appear at all. A listing that does not state Thunderbolt still has USB-C ports; read the stated details for what those ports carry.
Thunderbolt and external storage
Footage takes more storage than the internal drive holds, so editors connect external drives for media. A Thunderbolt port carries the data for that drive over one cable. Apple's MacBook Pro tech specs state Thunderbolt 4 at up to 40Gb/s on the M5 model and Thunderbolt 5 at up to 120Gb/s on the M5 Pro and M5 Max models.
The practical point for an editor is the connection, not the figure: a Thunderbolt port lets you keep footage on an external SSD, move project files between drives, and leave the laptop's internal storage for the operating system and programs. Apple's spec pages state that these ports also support charging, so one cable can carry data and power.
When you compare two editing laptops on storage, notice how the external connection is stated. The storage capacity guide explains how internal and external drives share an editing project, and the ports guide shows where Thunderbolt sits among the other ports on a listing.
Thunderbolt docks for an editing desk
A dock turns one Thunderbolt port into several. You plug the dock into the laptop, then connect a card reader, a mouse, a keyboard, and a monitor to the dock. The ASUS ProArt page lists Thunderbolt, USB-C, and HDMI among the connectivity standards on its creator laptop line.
For an editor, the dock matters after a shoot: you come back to a desk, plug one cable into the laptop, and the card reader, drives, and display are ready. Apple's MacBook Pro page describes its ports as a way to connect peripherals, transfer media, drive multiple external displays, and power up instantly.
Before you buy a dock, read the laptop's stated details for the port name and the maker's page for how many Thunderbolt ports the model carries. Apple's tech specs state three Thunderbolt ports on MacBook Pro and two on MacBook Air; a dock setup that fits one port count may not fit another.
Thunderbolt and external displays
Editors check their timeline on a larger screen than the laptop's. Thunderbolt ports carry display video as well as data; Apple's spec pages state that its Thunderbolt ports support DisplayPort. The MacBook Air tech specs state two Thunderbolt 4 ports with DisplayPort support and up to two external displays.
The MacBook Pro tech specs describe display support by chip: the M5 model supports up to two external displays over any combination of Thunderbolt and HDMI ports, and the M5 Pro supports up to three. The stated display resolutions and refresh rates are on the Apple page.
When you compare two laptops on external displays, read the maker's page for what the Thunderbolt and HDMI ports can drive together. The multi display guide and the external monitor ports guide explain how the stated ports add up on a listing.
Thunderbolt 3 and 4 on a listing
Thunderbolt 3 and Thunderbolt 4 look alike from the outside: both use the USB-C connector. The difference is the generation the listing states. On current Apple listings, the stated details read Thunderbolt 4 or Thunderbolt 5, not Thunderbolt 3. Apple's tech specs state Thunderbolt 4 at up to 40Gb/s and Thunderbolt 5 at up to 120Gb/s.
If you see Thunderbolt 3 on a listing, it names the port generation, nothing more about the laptop's overall capability. The stated details on each listing in the site's guides show which Thunderbolt version appears, and the maker's page states what the port carries.
A listing that does not state Thunderbolt at all still has USB-C ports. Read the stated details for USB-C and check the maker's page for what those ports carry. The Thunderbolt 4 vs USB 4 guide explains how the two names relate.
| Model | Thunderbolt stated on Apple's page |
|---|---|
| MacBook Air (M5) | Two Thunderbolt 4 ports, up to 40Gb/s |
| MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5) | Three Thunderbolt 4 ports, up to 40Gb/s |
| MacBook Pro 14-inch and 16-inch (M5 Pro and M5 Max) | Three Thunderbolt 5 ports, up to 120Gb/s |
What to read on the maker's page
The laptop maker's page is where you read what a Thunderbolt port carries: charging, DisplayPort, USB 4, and the data rate. Apple's MacBook Pro and MacBook Air pages state this for each model. The ASUS ProArt page lists Thunderbolt among its connectivity standards.
A listing may say Thunderbolt 4 in the title and give no further detail in the bullets. The maker's page fills that gap: it tells you how many ports, what each carries, and what external displays the laptop supports.
Before you buy, open the maker's page for the exact model and read the connectivity section alongside the listing's stated details. Then match what you find to the video editing laptop guide and the MacBook editing guide.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You edit footage from external drives | A laptop whose stated details name Thunderbolt 4 or Thunderbolt 5 for the external connection | Best Laptop for 4K Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You connect a dock and several peripherals at a desk | A laptop with stated Thunderbolt ports and a maker page that confirms the port count | Best Laptop for Video Editing (2026): Editing Laptop Reviews |
| You edit on a MacBook | A MacBook Pro or MacBook Air whose spec page states the Thunderbolt port count and data rate | Best MacBook for Video Editing (2026): 15 MacBook Reviews |
| You keep more than one external display open | A laptop whose maker page states external display support over Thunderbolt and HDMI | Best Workstation Laptop for Video Editing (2026): 15 Picks |
| You are starting a channel and moving footage from a camera | A laptop with stated Thunderbolt or USB-C ports, plus a plan for an external drive | Best Laptop for YouTube Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
Questions
Do you need Thunderbolt to edit video?
You do not need a Thunderbolt port to edit; you need a port that carries data to your external drives and display. Thunderbolt is the name on many current laptops for that one-cable connection. If a listing does not state Thunderbolt, read what its USB-C ports carry on the maker's page.
What is the difference between Thunderbolt 3 and Thunderbolt 4?
Both use the USB-C connector. Thunderbolt 4 is the generation named on current Apple spec pages at up to 40Gb/s; Thunderbolt 5 is stated at up to 120Gb/s on M5 Pro and M5 Max models. Thunderbolt 3 is the earlier generation on older listings. Read the stated port name and the maker's page for what it carries.
Can you edit from an external SSD over Thunderbolt?
A Thunderbolt port carries data to an external SSD over one cable, so you can keep footage on the drive and edit from it. Apple's spec pages state that MacBook Pro and MacBook Air Thunderbolt ports support charging and DisplayPort alongside data transfer.
How many displays can Thunderbolt drive?
It depends on the laptop, not the port alone. Apple's spec pages state external display support by model: the MacBook Air supports up to two external displays, the MacBook Pro with M5 supports up to two, and the M5 Pro supports up to three, over any combination of Thunderbolt and HDMI ports.
Is Thunderbolt only on MacBooks?
No. The ASUS ProArt page lists Thunderbolt, USB-C, and HDMI among the connectivity standards on its creator line. On any laptop, you read the stated details for the port name and the maker's page for what it carries.
Recent updates
- : First published.