Touchscreen vs Nontouchscreen: Which Laptop?
Short answer: A touchscreen is an optional feature on an editing laptop, not a required one. Editing is mostly keyboard and mouse work; touch adds a second way to point at clips and the timeline. A listing either states a touch panel or it does not, and the comparison here is made on stated details. Windows 11 is described by Microsoft as designed with touch in mind. MacBook listings do not state a touchscreen; the stated input surface is the trackpad, with Force Touch gestures on the MacBook Air.
What a touchscreen is on an editing laptop
A touchscreen is a display that accepts input from a finger or a stylus. On a laptop listing, touch appears as a stated line: "touchscreen", "touch display", or "pen support" may be written in the title, the bullet list, or the details. This site compares stated details, so the question is read as it is written: either the listing states a touch panel, or it does not.
For video editing, the display is the surface you look at, and touch is a way to point at it. A nontouch display still shows the same footage and timeline; it simply does not take finger input. The choice between a touch and a nontouch panel is separate from the qualities a listing states for the screen itself, such as the size, resolution, and finish. Read how the screen finish is stated and the touchscreen topic for the surrounding details.
What touch input does for an editor
In plain terms, touch input lets you reach to the screen and interact with what is under your finger. Common actions on a touch display are tapping to select a clip, dragging to move it, pinching to zoom the timeline, and swiping to scroll through footage. These are descriptions of how touch works, not claims about speed or output.
An editing program is built around precise pointing, and most work happens with a keyboard and a mouse or trackpad: cutting, trimming, applying effects, and adjusting audio. Touch adds a second way to point, useful when you are checking footage or moving clips around a timeline. For a two-in-one that folds into a tablet, touch becomes the main input when the keyboard is folded away.
Windows, macOS, and the touch line
Microsoft states that Windows 11 was designed with touch in mind for a true mouse-less or keyboard-less experience. That statement describes the operating system, not any one laptop. A Windows listing may state a touchscreen or it may not, and the comparison at this site is made on the stated lines of each listing.
Apple's MacBook Pro and MacBook Air spec pages do not list a touchscreen. The MacBook display is described by its resolution, brightness, color, and refresh rate; touch is not a line on those pages. On a MacBook, the pointing surface is the trackpad. Apple states on the MacBook Air spec page a Force Touch trackpad for precise cursor control and pressure-sensing capabilities, enabling Force clicks, accelerators, pressure-sensitive drawing, and Multi-Touch gestures.
For an editor choosing between platforms, touch is mostly a Windows question. If you want a touch display, read Windows listings for the stated touch line. If you are choosing a MacBook for editing, plan on the trackpad and keyboard as your pointing tools.
How a listing states touch
The listing may state touch in several places: the title says "14-inch touchscreen laptop", the bullet list says "touch display", and the details may add "10-point touch" or "pen support". When a listing does not state touch at all, treat it as a nontouch display. Read the title, the bullets, and the details together.
A touch panel is often described with the screen finish. A listing may state "glossy" for a touch model or "anti-glare" for a nontouch model, and some listings state both the panel and the finish separately. The guides here compare stated details only, so the finish is read as written. The screen size and aspect words are read the same way.
- The title: a word like "touch" or "2-in-1".
- The bullet list: "touch display" or "touchscreen".
- The details: "10-point touch", "pen support", "stylus".
- The absence of these words: treat the listing as nontouch.
Touch and an external monitor
Many editing setups add an external monitor for the timeline or a second window. An external monitor is a separate display that does not take touch input; the laptop panel's touch does not extend to it. In a desktop-style setup, the laptop touchscreen serves the laptop panel only, and the monitor is pointed at with a mouse.
Read about multi-display setups when you plan a second monitor. The touch line on the laptop and the stated monitor support are two separate lines, and both are compared as stated details.
How to choose between the two
The answer in one sentence: pick touch when a listing states a touch panel and you will use a two-in-one form or pen input; pick nontouch when you edit at a desk and point with a mouse or trackpad, or when the listing does not state touch.
When comparing two laptops with similar stated RAM, storage, graphics, and screen size, the touch line is one of several stated differences. The decision rests on the whole set of stated details, not on touch alone. Use the guide to checking specs to line up two listings side by side, then match your situation to one of the video editing laptop guides.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You edit at a desk with a mouse or trackpad | A nontouch display on a listing with strong stated editing specs: 32GB of RAM, a dedicated graphics card, and SSD storage | Best Laptop for Video Editing (2026): Editing Laptop Reviews |
| You want a laptop that folds into a tablet | A two-in-one listing that states a touchscreen and a 360-degree hinge | Best Laptop for Content Creation in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You plan a MacBook editing setup | A MacBook Pro or MacBook Air with no stated touchscreen, relying on the stated trackpad and keyboard | Best MacBook for Video Editing (2026): 15 MacBook Reviews |
| You carry the laptop between shoots | A lightweight nontouch listing whose stated weight fits your bag | Best Lightweight Video Editing Laptops in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You make thumbnails and want pen input | A listing that states touch plus stylus or pen support | Best Laptop for YouTube Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You check footage on the laptop but edit on a second monitor | Any touch or nontouch panel; the stated monitor support matters more | Best Big Screen Laptops for Video Editing (2026): 15 Picks |
Questions
Is a touchscreen necessary for video editing?
No. An editing program is built around a keyboard and a mouse or trackpad for precise cutting and trimming. Touch is an extra way to point, and a listing either states a touch display or it does not. The guides here compare stated details, not the necessity of any single feature.
Do MacBook laptops have a touchscreen?
Apple's MacBook Pro and MacBook Air spec pages do not list a touchscreen. The MacBook display is described by resolution, brightness, color, and refresh rate, while the trackpad is the stated input surface, with the Force Touch trackpad listed on the MacBook Air spec page.
Does an editing program work with a touchscreen?
This site never says a listing runs a program. Read the program maker's requirements page for what the program needs, and read the laptop listing for its stated lines. Touch input is one of those lines and is never a guarantee that a program accepts it.
Is a touchscreen better for a two-in-one laptop?
A two-in-one listing states a 360-degree hinge and usually a touchscreen; in tablet mode the keyboard is folded away and touch becomes the main way to point. ASUS, as one maker, states a 360-degree hinge with a touchscreen panel on its Vivobook 16 Flip.
Does a touchscreen change weight or battery capacity?
A listing states weight in kilograms and battery capacity in watt-hours. The guides compare those stated figures. What a touch layer does to runtime or weight on a given model is not something the catalogue states.
Should you buy a stylus for an editing laptop?
Only if the listing states pen support. A touchscreen and a stylus are separate stated lines. ASUS states ASUS Pen 2.0 support on its Flip model as an example; if pen input matters to you, read the listing for that line.
Recent updates
- : First published.