Laptop Battery Capacity (Wh): What Does It Really Mean?
Short answer: The watt-hour (Wh) figure on a laptop listing states how much energy the battery can hold. A battery that can deliver 1 watt for 1 hour stores 1 watt-hour. Runtime is a separate question: the same capacity can last longer on a small-screen, low-draw laptop and shorter on a big-screen, separate-graphics one. Makers state estimates for light activities, such as Apple's 24 hours of video streaming for MacBook Pro, but no listing states an editing runtime. Compare capacity in Wh between listings, then read the parts that drain it.
What a watt-hour means
The watt-hour (Wh) figure on a laptop listing states how much energy the battery holds. A battery that can deliver 1 watt of power for 1 hour stores 1 watt-hour. A battery with a higher watt-hour figure stores more energy than one with a lower figure. That is all the figure says: a capacity, not a promise of runtime.
Runtime is what the laptop does with that stored energy. The processor, graphics, screen and programs draw power at different rates, so two laptops with the same Wh can run for very different lengths under the same activity. A laptop with a large screen, a high refresh rate and separate graphics draws more power than a small, light one, in general terms.
Reading the battery line on a listing
The capacity appears as a stated figure on many listings. Apple states a 72.4-watt-hour lithium-polymer battery for MacBook Pro and a 53.8-watt-hour battery for MacBook Air. ASUS states a 75 Wh battery on models such as the Zenbook Duo. When the capacity is stated, compare it directly between listings. When it is not stated, the makers' technical specification pages are the place to find it.
The same model line can appear with different battery figures, so compare like for like: a 14-inch listing against another 14-inch listing, a 16-inch against a 16-inch. The weight line on the listing often moves with the battery figure, since a larger battery adds weight. Read the capacity and the weight together.
Capacity versus the maker's runtime estimate
Makers publish runtime estimates alongside the capacity. Apple states up to 24 hours of video streaming for the 14-inch MacBook Pro with the M5 chip, up to 22 hours with M5 Pro, up to 20 hours with M5 Max, and up to 18 hours of video streaming for MacBook Air. ASUS states up to 13.5 hours of battery life for the Zenbook Duo UX8406 with its 75 Wh battery.
Those figures are the makers' estimates for the named activity, usually video streaming or wireless web use, under the makers' conditions. Editing uses the processor, graphics and screen at a continuous load above video streaming, so the runtime you experience is likely to be shorter in general terms. No listing here and no maker page states an editing runtime, so read the estimate as a maker's claim for a light activity, not for your timeline.
Capacity, graphics and unplugged use
A laptop with separate graphics draws more power when the graphics are under load. NVIDIA describes Max-Q technologies for RTX PRO laptops, including Battery Boost, which the page says finds an optimal balance of GPU and CPU power usage, battery discharge, image quality and frame rates for longer battery life on the go. The maker names the feature; the catalogue here does not measure its effect.
For the heavy parts of an edit, the practical setup is to run plugged in. Apple's MacBook Pro specification page states a 70W USB-C power adapter with the M5 model and a 96W adapter with some M5 Pro and M5 Max configurations. The adapter keeps the battery topped up while the timeline is open; capacity matters for carrying the laptop between sessions rather than for finishing a project on stored energy.
Comparing two listings on capacity
To compare two listings on battery, read the Wh figure on each. A higher figure means more stored energy. Then read the parts that drain it: screen size, refresh rate, and whether the graphics are separate from the processor are all named on the listing. A laptop with a lower Wh and a small screen may run as long, in the maker's estimate, as one with a higher Wh and a power-hungry display.
The guide's method compares stated details: RAM, graphics, storage, screen, weight and battery capacity in Wh, exactly as each listing states them. What the listing does not state, including runtime for your editing project, is left out. The same method runs through the editing laptop guide and the 4K editing guide.
What the catalogue cannot say about battery
The catalogue states capacity, not runtime. It cannot say how long the laptop runs while you edit, how the battery ages, or how quickly an adapter charges it. Those claims are not made here. What the makers state are estimates for named light activities, on the pages cited.
Decide what you need the battery for: carrying between shoots, a class without outlets, or a long session away from power. For each, the steps are the same: read the capacity in Wh, read the maker's stated estimate for a light activity, and plan to run plugged in for the heavy parts of the edit. The lightweight guide, the MacBook guide and the workstation guide each compare stated details the same way.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You edit mostly at a desk with a monitor | Any stated capacity; run plugged in for heavy edits, and use Wh only to compare capacity between models | Best Laptop for Video Editing (2026): Editing Laptop Reviews |
| You carry the laptop between shoots and edit on location | A listing that states a higher Wh figure, and check the maker's stated estimate for video streaming as a light-use reference | Best Lightweight Video Editing Laptops in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You work on long 4K projects away from outlets | The highest stated Wh in your shortlist, plus the maker's stated light-use estimate; keep the adapter for rendering and effects work | Best Laptop for 4K Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You edit on macOS | A MacBook Pro listing with the stated 72.4-watt-hour battery, or a MacBook Air with 53.8, and read Apple's stated video-streaming estimate | Best MacBook for Video Editing (2026): 15 MacBook Reviews |
| You use separate graphics for effects and finishing | A listing with a stated Wh figure and a stated power adapter you can carry, since the graphics draw power when they work | Best Workstation Laptop for Video Editing (2026): 15 Picks |
Questions
What does Wh mean on a laptop?
Wh stands for watt-hour, a unit of energy. A battery that can deliver 1 watt for 1 hour stores 1 watt-hour. A higher Wh figure means the battery holds more energy; it does not by itself state how long the laptop runs.
Does a higher Wh battery mean longer editing runtime?
In general terms, a higher Wh battery holds more energy, but runtime depends on what drains it. Editing uses the processor, graphics and screen at a continuous load, so no listing states an editing runtime. Compare Wh for capacity and read the maker's light-use estimate.
Why does a listing state Wh and not hours?
Runtime depends on the activity and conditions, so a single hour figure would be misleading. Makers publish estimates for named activities, such as Apple's stated up to 24 hours of video streaming for MacBook Pro. The catalogue states capacity and leaves runtime unstated.
Is battery capacity the same as battery life?
No. Capacity is the stored energy in watt-hours. Battery life, or runtime, is how long the laptop runs under a given activity. The two are related but separate, and only the maker's page states a runtime estimate, for a named activity.
How do you compare two laptops on battery capacity?
Read the Wh figure on each listing and compare capacity. Then read the parts that drain it: screen size, refresh rate, and separate graphics. The guide compares stated details only, exactly as each listing states them.
Should you edit on battery or plugged in?
For the heavy parts of an edit, run plugged in. Apple states a 70W or 96W USB-C power adapter for MacBook Pro, as an example. On stored energy, the laptop runs until the battery is spent, and the runtime is shorter than the maker's light-use estimate in general terms.
Recent updates
- : First published.