PCIe 3.0 vs 4.0 vs 5.0 SSDs: How Much Speed Do You Need?
Short answer: PCIe generation names the interface between the SSD and the system, not the amount of storage. A title may read PCIe Gen4 NVMe SSD or just 512GB SSD. For video editing, start with the capacity you see in TB, confirm the drive is an SSD, and read the generation as a secondary detail when it is stated.
Where the PCIe generation appears
A laptop title often packs storage into one short line. You may see PCIe Gen3 NVMe SSD, PCIe 4.0, or PCIe 5.0, or a simpler form such as 1TB SSD. The PCIe part is the interface standard that connects the SSD to the processor. It is a name for the connection, not a measure of how much footage the laptop holds.
For an editor, the two useful details in that line are the capacity in TB and the word NVMe. The generation name tells you which interface version the maker chose, but the site compares listings on stated details only. If you want the difference between NVMe and SATA explained in plain terms, the NVMe vs SATA comparison covers it.
- Interface name: PCIe 3.0, PCIe 4.0, or PCIe 5.0 as stated on the title
- Drive type: NVMe or SATA as stated
- Capacity: the size in GB or TB
- Whether the maker page lists the generation at all
What a generation describes
A PCIe generation describes how much data the connection can carry between the SSD and the system. Each newer generation raises the ceiling for that data transfer. That is an interface property, not a claim about how quickly an export finishes.
You do not need a benchmark to choose a laptop. The question is what a listing states and how it matches your projects. When a title names a generation, it is one point on the spec sheet. When it does not, the capacity and the SSD type still tell you what you need. For a focused comparison of the generations as names, see the PCIe 3 vs PCIe 4 article and the PCIe Gen5 vs Gen4 article.
Capacity first
The capacity line is the first read for an editor. Footage, project files, caches, and exports all occupy space. Apple lists SSD configurations from 512GB up to 8TB on the MacBook Pro tech spec page, and the MacBook Air page starts at 512GB. ASUS titles show lines such as up to 1TB SSD. Windows 11 states that a device needs 64GB or larger storage as one of its minimum system requirements.
Your timeline needs room for the footage you import, the rendered previews, and the final file you deliver. A bigger stated capacity gives you more room before you rely on external drives. The storage capacity guide and the storage types guide explain how those numbers read in a listing.
Comparing two listings
When two laptops look similar, compare them on the storage line in the same order. Start with capacity, because it decides how much footage fits. Then look at the drive type. Then read the interface name if one is stated.
A table for that reading order looks like this.
The video editing laptop guide and the 4K video editing guide use the same stated-details method across their comparisons.
| Stated line | What to read |
|---|---|
| 512GB SSD | Capacity 512GB; interface not stated |
| 1TB NVMe SSD | Capacity 1TB; NVMe stated; generation not stated |
| 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe | Capacity 2TB; NVMe stated; PCIe 4.0 named |
When the generation is not stated
Many listings omit the generation and simply say SSD. That is a common reading, and it does not make the laptop unsuitable. The stated capacity and the SSD type are enough to start a shortlist.
If you plan to add storage later, read what the listing says about internal slots. Some laptops accept a second M.2 drive; others are sealed. The M.2 slots article explains what to look for in the stated details.
What maker pages state
Official maker pages list storage in the same line as other specs. Apple's MacBook Pro page shows the SSD configuration choices from 1TB up to 8TB; the MacBook Air page starts at 512GB. ASUS product pages show up to 1TB SSD on several models. The interface name, whether PCIe 3.0 or 4.0, may appear in a separate specification document rather than the title.
For Windows notebooks, the Microsoft Windows 11 specifications page states that a device needs 64GB or larger storage as one of its minimum system requirements. That is a minimum, not an editing recommendation. Your shortlist should be guided by the project sizes you expect, not by the operating system floor.
- Check the maker page for the capacity
- Check for the SSD type (NVMe or SATA)
- Look for the interface name if you want it
- Compare two listings on the stated line only
External drives and backups
Internal storage on a laptop is one part of an editing setup. External SSDs carry footage between shoots, hold backups, and archive finished projects. A laptop with a moderate stated capacity can still work well for a channel or a course when a drive handles the overflow.
When you move between shoots, a drive that holds the day's footage reduces the pressure on the internal SSD. Buying a laptop with a stated capacity that covers your operating system, programs, and active projects lets you keep footage on an external drive until you archive it.
The content creation guide shows how readers pair a laptop with external storage when they compare configurations.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You edit a weekly YouTube channel | A listing that states an SSD with enough capacity for your footage and exports | Best Laptop for YouTube Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You edit 4K event or family footage | A listing that states a large SSD, 2TB or more where stated | Best Laptop for 4K Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You are a film or media student | A listing that states an SSD meeting your course storage, with room for a term of projects | Best Video Editing Laptop for Students (2026): Laptop Reviews |
| You edit between shoots on the road | A lightweight laptop with a stated NVMe SSD and the capacity you need | Best Lightweight Video Editing Laptops in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You create content beyond video | A laptop whose SSD matches media and project files, with external storage later | Best Laptop for Content Creation in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You want a general editing pick | A laptop that states SSD storage and lets you compare capacity between configurations | Best Laptop for Video Editing (2026): Editing Laptop Reviews |
Questions
Is a newer PCIe generation necessary for video editing?
Not for reading a listing. The generation is an interface name; the stated capacity and the SSD type come first. For a deeper look at the interface difference, read the PCIe 3 vs PCIe 4 comparison.
What if a listing only says SSD and no generation?
That is a common reading. You compare on stated details: capacity in TB, NVMe or SATA, and what the maker page says. Start with capacity, then look at the drive type.
Are NVMe and PCIe the same thing?
No. NVMe is a protocol for accessing storage; PCIe is the interface the drive connects through. The NVMe vs SATA article explains the difference in plain terms.
Should footage live on the internal SSD or external storage?
Internal storage suits the operating system, programs, and active projects. Footage and backups can live on external drives as well. The buying guides cover how readers pair the two.
Can you add a second drive later?
Some laptops allow a second internal M.2 drive; others do not. Read the listing for the slots it states, and compare what the maker page says before you buy.
Does a PCIe 5.0 laptop store more footage?
No. The generation names the connection, not the capacity. Two laptops with the same 1TB SSD capacity hold the same amount of footage. Capacity is the number to read first.
Recent updates
- : First published.