Apple M1 vs M2: Which Chip Is Faster?
Short answer: The question is which Apple chip is faster for editing, but the site never claims a speed. A chip name on a MacBook listing tells you which Apple silicon family the laptop belongs to. Apple's current MacBook Pro page names the M5, M5 Pro, and M5 Max chips and compares them with the M1 family. M2 is not named on that page. Read the chip name together with the stated unified memory, storage, weight, and battery capacity, then match those details to the buying guides.
Answer first: what the catalogue can state
The question in the title comes from a buyer comparing Apple chips for editing. This article answers it the way the site answers every buying question: by reading the stated details on a listing and on the maker's page. The site does not claim that one chip is faster than another, because the catalogue does not state speeds.
A chip name on a MacBook listing tells you which Apple silicon family the laptop belongs to. Apple's current MacBook Pro page names three chips: M5, M5 Pro, and M5 Max. The same page compares the M5 family with the M1 family from previous MacBook Pro models. M2 is not named on that page.
If you see M1 or M2 in a listing title or in a question, read it as an earlier Apple chip family. The useful comparison is between the stated details beside the chip name: unified memory, storage, weight, and battery capacity. Those figures are what the guides compare.
The chip name on a listing
A MacBook listing usually states the chip name in the title or in the details block. Apple's MacBook Pro specs page lists the M5 chip with a 10-core CPU and a 10-core GPU, and lists M5 Pro and M5 Max with larger core counts. The MacBook Air specs page lists the M5 chip with an 8-core or 10-core GPU. Those core counts are stated figures, not speed claims.
When two listings show different chip names, read the details beside each name. A chip name identifies the family; the memory and storage figures identify the configuration. Apple's MacBook Pro specs page states that the M5 chip starts with 16GB, 24GB, or 32GB of unified memory and a 1TB SSD, with options above that. The MacBook Air page states 16GB or 24GB of unified memory and a 512GB or 1TB SSD.
The same logic applies to earlier chip names. A listing that states M1 or M2 states an earlier family. The place to check what a chip does is the maker's page, not the title.
- Chip name: M5, M5 Pro, M5 Max, or an earlier family name
- Unified memory in gigabytes
- Storage in terabytes
- Screen size in inches
- Weight in pounds or kilograms
- Operating system: macOS
Unified memory for editing timelines
Unified memory is how Apple's pages describe the memory on Apple silicon. It is memory that the CPU and the GPU share. Apple's MacBook Pro specs page lists 16GB, 24GB, and 32GB as starting figures and options up to 128GB on the M5 Max. A listing states the same figure in gigabytes.
For editing, memory holds the timeline, the footage you are working on, and the other programs open at the same time. A listing that states more gigabytes gives that work more room. The RAM guide explains the general terms: how much RAM for video editing.
Multitasking in editing means the editing program, a browser, a file manager, and a second program open together. The stated memory figure tells you how much room those programs have. The guides compare two listings on that figure.
Storage for footage and finished projects
A MacBook listing states storage in terabytes. Apple's MacBook Pro specs page lists a 1TB or 2TB SSD as the starting figure, with options up to 8TB on the 16-inch model. The MacBook Air page lists a 512GB or 1TB SSD, with options up to 4TB.
Footage, project files, and cache all live on storage. A 4K project takes space, and so do the files you keep from one shoot to the next. External drives are the usual place for footage that does not need to stay on the internal drive. The storage guides explain the options: storage types for video editing and storage capacity for video editing.
When a listing states a storage figure, that figure describes the internal drive. The site does not add an external drive to a laptop's stated storage.
Weight and battery capacity on Apple listings
Apple listings state weight and battery capacity. The MacBook Air specs page states a weight of 2.7 pounds (1.23 kg). The MacBook Pro specs page states a 72.4-watt-hour lithium-polymer battery. Battery capacity in watt-hours is a stated figure; runtime in hours is not something the site measures.
For an editor who works between shoots, weight and the charger you carry matter. A listing that states a lower weight is easier to move. A listing that states a higher battery capacity holds more energy before a charge. The lightweight guide compares listings on stated weight: best lightweight laptop for video editing.
Capacity and runtime are different terms. Capacity is what a listing states. Runtime depends on what you run, which the catalogue does not state. The battery guide explains the words: battery capacity in watt-hours.
Platform choice: MacBook or Windows
The choice between a MacBook and a Windows laptop is a platform choice. The platform you already edit on is often the easiest place to start. MacBook listings state macOS as the operating system. Windows listings state Windows 11 Home or Pro.
Program makers publish their own pages. Apple's Final Cut Pro page describes an editing program that runs on Mac. Blackmagic Design's page describes DaVinci Resolve as a single tool for editing, color, effects, and audio. YouTube's help page states recommended upload encoding settings. The site points you to those pages and never claims a listing runs a program.
The MacBook guide compares MacBook listings on stated details: best MacBook for video editing. The main editing laptop guide compares Windows and MacBook listings side by side: best laptop for video editing.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You compare two MacBook listings on chip names | Read the stated chip name, unified memory, storage, and weight beside it, and match them to the guides | Best MacBook for Video Editing (2026): 15 MacBook Reviews |
| You edit long 4K projects | A listing with a stated M5 family chip and 32GB or more of unified memory | Best Laptop for 4K Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You produce a YouTube channel | A MacBook or Windows listing whose stated memory and storage fit your weekly footage | Best Laptop for YouTube Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You are a student in a media or film course | A lightweight listing with stated memory for a term of projects | Best Video Editing Laptop for Students (2026): Laptop Reviews |
| You want room for long timelines and many open programs | A listing that states 64GB of unified memory on an Apple chip or 64GB of RAM on Windows | Best 64GB RAM Laptops for Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You carry the laptop between shoots | A listing with a stated low weight and a stated battery capacity | Best Lightweight Video Editing Laptops in 2026: 15 Picks |
Questions
Which chip is faster for editing, the M1 or the M2?
The site cannot claim a speed for either chip. Apple's current MacBook Pro page names the M5 family and compares it with the M1 family; M2 is not named on that page. Compare two MacBook listings on stated details: chip name, unified memory, storage, and weight.
Why do the guides not compare M1 and M2 on speed?
Because the catalogue states details, not measured speeds. A listing states a chip name, memory in gigabytes, storage in terabytes, and weight. The guides compare those stated details and point to the maker's pages.
What should you read on a MacBook listing for video editing?
Read the chip name (M5, M5 Pro, M5 Max, or an earlier family), the unified memory figure in gigabytes, the storage figure, the screen size, and the weight. Then match those stated details to the buying guides.
What is unified memory?
Unified memory is memory that the CPU and GPU share on Apple silicon. Apple's pages state it in gigabytes, and a listing states the same figure. More stated memory gives an editing session more room for the timeline and open programs.
Does the M2 appear in current Apple pages?
No. The current Apple MacBook Pro and MacBook Air pages name the M5 chip, with M5 Pro and M5 Max on the Pro. If you see M1 or M2 on a listing, read it as an earlier chip family and check the maker's page before deciding.
Should you choose a MacBook or a Windows laptop for editing?
That is a platform choice. The platform you already edit on is a good starting point. The guides compare MacBook and Windows listings on stated details, and the MacBook guide is the place to start.
Recent updates
- : First published.