BestLaptopsForVideoEditing

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Maximum RAM Capacity: How to Check on an Editing Laptop

Short answer: The maximum RAM a laptop supports is stated by the maker, usually on the specification page for that model. For an editing laptop, that figure tells you whether you can add memory later without replacing the machine, and whether the configuration you buy today leaves room for longer timelines and more open programs. Some laptops have soldered memory that cannot be changed after purchase; others have slots that accept additional modules. Read the maker's page, not just the installed amount on the listing.

Why the maximum matters for future projects

RAM is the working memory a laptop uses while an editing project is open. In general terms, a longer timeline, higher resolution clips, and more programs open at the same time ask for more RAM. The maximum capacity a laptop supports is the ceiling for that model, and it tells you whether the memory can grow after you buy it.

For an editor, the question "what RAM does this model accept at most?" is part of choosing a configuration. A laptop that ships with 16GB but accepts 64GB leaves room for later projects; a laptop that ships with 16GB and cannot go higher makes that 16GB a permanent decision. The difference is worth checking before you shortlist. For the baseline on how much installed RAM editing usually starts with, read how much RAM for video editing.

Where the maximum is stated

The maximum is stated by the maker, usually on the specification page for the model. The listing may show the installed amount only, such as "32GB RAM", and not the maximum, because the maximum is a property of the model rather than of one configuration.

When a listing says "up to 64GB", it is usually describing the largest configuration the maker offers, which is often also the maximum the model accepts. When the maximum is not stated, the maker's official page or the manual's upgrade section is the next place to read. For a general method of reading a listing and its missing details, see how to check laptop specs.

Soldered memory versus available slots

There are two ways laptop memory is fitted. Soldered memory is attached to the motherboard and cannot be changed later. Slot-based memory accepts additional modules up to the stated maximum. Some laptops combine both: a soldered amount plus one slot for a later module.

For editing, soldered memory means the configuration you choose at purchase is the one you keep. Slot-based memory lets you grow, but the maximum still applies, and adding a module is a job a repair shop may handle. Apple's MacBook lines use unified memory; Apple's specification pages list the configurations you pick at order time, and those choices are made at purchase rather than changed afterward. The MacBook Pro specification page and MacBook Air specification page both list the configurable memory amounts for each chip. For the difference between fixed and upgradeable memory in plainer terms, read soldered RAM versus SO-DIMM.

How to read the maker's specification page

Look for a heading such as "Memory" or "RAM" on the maker's page for the model. Next to it you may see a line that reads "Maximum", "Up to", or "Configurable to", and a separate line for the installed configuration. The maximum tells you the largest amount the machine can hold; the installed line tells you what ships.

A rule of thumb for an editing laptop: note both lines. If the maximum sits well above the installed amount, the model has room to grow. If the maker lists only the installed figures without a stated maximum, check the manual's upgrade section or the maker's support page for the same model. The figure is a stated detail, so it should be read from the maker's page, not inferred from the installed amount. See RAM type: DDR4 and DDR5 for why the type matters alongside the capacity.

What to check on delivery

On the first day, a simple check is to open the system settings and read the stated RAM shown there. That figure should match the installed amount on the listing. The maximum is not shown in system settings; it comes from the maker's page.

Keep the manual or the maker's support page bookmarked if the laptop has a slot, so the maximum and the correct module type are easy to find later. Whether a slot is empty and how to reach it is described in the maker's documentation for that model, so read that page before deciding to add memory.

Comparing two laptops on maximum capacity

Compare the stated maximum on the maker's pages, not the installed amount alone. Two laptops with 32GB installed can differ: one may accept 64GB later, the other may be capped at 32GB. For projects that will grow, the one with the higher stated maximum is the safer choice.

For a laptop used for a fixed workload, such as a single term of coursework or a short series of projects, the maximum matters less than the installed amount. The decision comes down to how long you plan to keep the laptop and whether the workload will grow. The 64GB RAM laptop guide and the 4K editing laptop guide both cover models where a larger stated maximum is a key detail.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You edit long 4K timelines and want to add memory laterA laptop whose stated details allow a later memory upgrade: a slot plus a stated maximum above the installed amountBest Laptop for 4K Video Editing in 2026: 15 Picks
You want the largest stated working memory in a laptopA MacBook Pro 16-inch configured with 128GB unified memory, which Apple's specification page lists for the M5 Max with a 40-core GPUBest MacBook for Video Editing (2026): 15 MacBook Reviews
You buy on a tighter budget and start with 16GBA model whose maker's page states a maximum of 32GB or more, so the 16GB start can growBest Video Editing Laptop Under $1,000 in 2026: 5 Picks
You keep the laptop for a course or a fixed project loadA configuration with the RAM you need now, since soldered memory cannot be added laterBest Video Editing Laptop for Students (2026): Laptop Reviews
You want a laptop you can grow into over several yearsOne with a stated maximum well above the installed RAM and a slot available for a later moduleBest Laptop for Video Editing (2026): Editing Laptop Reviews

Questions

Can you add RAM to any laptop later?

No. Some laptops have soldered memory that cannot be changed. Check the maker's specification page for a slot and the stated maximum before buying.

What does "up to" on a listing mean?

It usually means the largest configuration the maker builds for that model. Read the maker's page to see whether that figure is also the maximum the model accepts.

Is the maximum the same as the installed RAM?

No. The installed amount is what ships in the laptop. The maximum is the largest amount the model accepts or the maker lists as a configuration.

Why does the maximum matter for your editing projects?

A stated maximum above the installed amount means you can grow as timelines get longer and more programs are open, without replacing the laptop.

Where do you find the maximum if the listing does not state it?

On the maker's official specification page for the model, or in the manual's upgrade section. The system settings show the installed amount only, not the maximum.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides